top of page

Practicing Versatility: How to Add Auxiliaries into Your Practice Routine

Have you ever been called to play with a group, and then scrambled to pick up an auxiliary instrument? Most clarinetists I know would admit this has happened to them a few times. For some teachers working with high school students and younger, even getting called to play A clarinet can be a little uncomfortable!

Playing auxiliary clarinets can be very helpful in getting performance and teaching opportunities. Whether we like to admit or not, playing B-flat clarinet does not automatically mean we can pick up an E-flat or bass clarinet and sound our best. I learned this the hard way after a semester of playing only B-flat and E-flat. I got a last minute call to sub on a program that was entirely on A. While my playing wasn't bad, my voicing and intonation were points of anxiety during that first rehearsal - I just wasn't used to the small things that make me sound best on that particular clarinet.

Over the past few years, I've adapted a practice habit I used when playing a lot of big band gigs and musicals: instrument rotation.

Working rotation into your practice

Here are some guidelines to get started:

  • Take out every instrument you intend to practice! This is especially important if you tend to procrastinate on additional practicing later in the day.

  • Start with the instrument that gives you the best basic embouchure and breathing warm-up. For me this is often the A clarinet. Bass clarinet is great for air, but the embouchure feels too loose for me. E-flat can encourage a tight embouchure and a shortened air stream.

  • Play your fundamentals: long tones, scales, octaves - whatever it is that provides a good, solid foundation for your playing in this practice session.

  • Switch to your next instrument. Identify the things that need to stay the same (i.e. good air support) and what you need to adjust (voicing, finger placement, etc...).

  • Find a short warm-up that works through the things you need to change. If I am switching to E-flat, maybe I play an arpeggio etude in order to get my fingers used to the keys and my voicing right for changes in register.

  • After doing a brief warm-up exercise on each instrument, continue to rotate based on a time interval. 15-20 minutes is normally good for me. You can practice solos, excerpts, ensembles parts, etudes - whatever gets you playing each instrument. Some orchestral parts may require you to make very quick instrument changes, which are always worth practicing! Notice how switching between horns feels.

A couple things about this method: This only works well if you have spent time with each instrument individually and have an established warm-up routine. If you have never played bass or E-flat clarinet before, put some time in doing basic fundamental exercises (tone, intonation, articulation) before starting a rotation routine. Also, don't get in the habit of always playing in the same order! Some instrument switches may be more or less comfortable for you.

Planning Practice Sessions

Obviously there are times when you won't need to practice multiple instruments. However, keeping up a few practice sessions a week that include instrument rotation can help you stay in shape for those random last minute opportunities!

Try organizing your practice in different ways and keep track of how effective you felt over the course of a few weeks. For example, I've found that switching to E-flat feels pretty easy, so I save that for later in the day. My morning warmups are on A and B-flat clarinet a few times a week, and may be heavier on one instrument depending on what performances I have scheduled. Find what works best for you!

Do you have a routine for practicing auxiliary clarinets? Comment below or tag @eflatclarinetproject / #eflatclarinetproject on Instagram!

bottom of page