top of page

Welcome to the E-flat Clarinet Project!

Welcome! This resource has been something I have wanted to put together for quite a while - probably at least five years now. I started playing E-flat clarinet during my undergraduate degree. Similar to many other students, I was handed a school instrument and a week later, found myself sitting in orchestra - with an E-flat part to a Mahler symphony. I think clarinetists can agree that this is a less-than-ideal introduction to an instrument! Its been a while since I was an undergraduate, and much of my professional research and performance has focused on E-flat clarinet.

We spend years working towards control of tone, technique, articulation, and expression on B-flat and A clarinets. Some of us do the same on bass clarinet. But so few of us spend the time keeping up the E-flat clarinet. Yet, we expect ourselves (and our students) to pick it up whenever called for in an ensemble. I believe the instrument is more enjoyable when it becomes part of a regular practice rotation - something I will be writing more about as I continue to develop this website and blog. Part of practicing includes the study of etudes and solo material. Hopefully this site provides a good starting point for anyone looking for exercises, chamber pieces, or even a good solo piece for an upcoming recital!

I know there are many E-flat clarinet enthusiasts out there - if you know of a great resource or solo, please send it my way! I will be trying to update the repertoire archive and media list regularly. There's no way that I know of all the repertoire or resources available, so I will happily accept submissions and update as often as I can.

Enjoy looking through the site, and check back for updates!

Sources Duo performing at ClarinetFest 2016
bottom of page